Board of directors and advisory board

bhBenedikt Hjartarson is an associate professor in Comparative Literature and Cultural Studies at the Faculty of Icelandic and Comparative Cultural Studies, University of Iceland. He finished a doctoral degree from the Faculty of Arts at the University of Groningen with a dissertation on the avant-garde manifesto as a literary genre, published by Winter Verlag in 2013 under the title Visionen des Neuen. Eine diskurshistorische Analyse des frühen avant­gardistischen Manifests. He has been a member of the steering committee and publication commission of EAM (European Network for Avant-garde and Modernism Studies) since its foundation in 2007. He was a member of the steering committee of the Nordic Network of Avant-garde studies from 2003 to 2009 and he is a member of the editorial board of a four volume Cultural History of the Avant-garde in the Nordic Countries published by Rodopi (first volume in 2012). He is the author of a number of articles on the European avant-garde, which have been published in Icelandic, German, Danish, English and Swedish.

Tania-tilraun2Tania Ørum is an associate professor at the Department for Cultural Studies and the Arts, University of Copenhagen. She has written widely on modernism and the avant-garde. The most recent publication is De eksperimenterende tressere, Copenhagen (Gyldendal 2009) on the cross-aesthetic experiments of the Danish avant-garde of the 1960s. She was a coordinator of the Danish research network “Avantgardernes genkomst og aktualitet” (The Return and Actuality of the Avant-Gardes) supported by the Danish  Research Council for the Humanities 2002-2004 and director of the Nordic Network of Avant-Garde Studies ( supported by the Nordic Research Council, Nordforsk 2005-2009. She was chairman of the European Network for Avant-Garde and Modernism Studies ( 2007-2008 and has been a member of the steering committee of EAM since 2007 . Main editor of the four volumes of The Cultural History of the Nordic Avant-Garde under publicationat Rodopi, Amsterdam & New York 2012-2015.

toSascha Bru is professor of literary theory at the University of Leuven in Belgium. He has written numerous articles on the politics and poetics of the historical avant-gardes and modernism. He is the author of Democracy, Law and the Modernist Avant-Gardes. Writing in the State of Exception (Edinburgh University Press, 2009) and is currently working on a book about the politics of time in the European avant-gardes. Bru has (co-)edited about ten books on the avant-garde, including The Oxford Cultural and Critical History of Modernist Magazines: Europe, 1880-1945 (Oxford University Press, 2013), Regarding the Popular. Modernism, the Avant-Garde and High and Low Culture (De Gruyter, 2011), and The Invention of Politics in the European Avant-Garde, 1906-1940 (Rodopi, 2006). He is editor-in-chief of the EAM book series European Avant-Garde and Modernism Studies (De Gruyter) and editorial board member of the book series Critical Avant-Garde Studies (Rodopi). Bru also co-directs MDRN, a large-scale Leuven-based research programme that studies the fate of European literature between 1900 and 1950 (

Harri-myndHarri Veivo is currently visiting professor at the University of New Sorbonne – Paris 3 and adjunct professor of comparative literature at the University of Helsinki. His research interests cover the Finnish, Nordic and Central European literary avant-gardes, theory of avant-garde and questions pertaining to the historiography of avant-garde. He has published several articles on his research topics in Finnish, English and French and edited the volumes Transferts, appropriations et fonctions de l’avant-garde en Europe intermédiaire et du Nord (2012) and with Sakari Katajamäki Avant-Garde and Experimental Literature (in Finnish, 2007). He is member of the editorial board of Cahiers de la Nouvelle Europe, Cahiers d’Études Hongroises et Finlandaise and Études finno-ougriennes and member of the scientific board of Moving Text. In 2009, he received the Oscar Parland Prize of the Finnish Society of Semiotics.     

Advisory Board

  • Mark Antliff, Professor of Art History and Visual Studies, Duke University.
  • David Ayers, Professor of Modernism and Critical Theory, University of Kent
  • Per Bäckström, Professor of Literary Studies, Karlstad University
  • Moritz Baßler, Professor of Modern German Literature, University of Münster
  • Hubert van den Berg, Professor at the Department of Dutch and South African Studies, Adam Mickiewicz University, Poznań
  • Günter Berghaus, Senior Research Fellow in Theatre History and Performance Studies, University of Bristol
  • Ina Blom, Head of Research at the Department of Philosophy, Classics, History of Art and Ideas, University of Oslo
  • Sylvain Briens, Professor of Scandinavian Literature, University of Sorbonne, Paris IV
  • David Cottington, Professor of Modern Art History, Kingston University
  • Konstantin Dudakov-Kashuro, Associate Professor, Department of Comparative Studies in Literatures and Cultures, Lomonosov Moscow State University
  • Craig Dworkin, Professor of English Language and Communication, University of Utah
  • Hanno Ehrlicher, Professor of Spanish Literature, Augsburg University
  • Robert Matthias Erdbeer, Research Coordinator, University of Münster
  • Ástráður Eysteinsson, Professor of Comparative Literature and Dean of the School of Humanities, University of Iceland
  • Eva Forgacs, Professor of Arts and Humanities, Art Center College of Design, Pasadena
  • Malte Hagener, Professor of Media Studies, Marburg University
  • Annegret Heitmann, Professor of Scandinavian Literature, Ludwig Maximilian University, Munich
  • Hlynur Helgason, Assistant Professor of Art Theory, University of Iceland
  • Þröstur Helgason, Doctoral Student and Private Lecturer in Comparative Literature, Uni­versity of Iceland
  • Tiit Hennoste, Research Fellow at the Institute of Estonian and General Linguistics, University of Tartu
  • Tomi Huttunen, Professor of Russian Literature, University of Helsinki
  • Torben Jelsbak, Assistant Professor at the Department of Culture and Identity, Roskilde University
  • Gabriele Jutz, Professor of Media Theory, University of Applied Arts, Vienna
  • Andrea Kollnitz, Assistant Professor at the Centre for Fashion Studies / Art History Department, Stockholm University
  • Andreas Kramer, Reader in German and Comparative Literature, Goldsmiths University
  • Tyrus Miller, Professor of Modern Literature and Dean of Graduate Studies, University of California, Santa Cruz
  • Klaus Müller-Wille, Professor of Nordic Literature, University of Zürich
  • Richard Murphy, Visiting Professor of German Comparative Literature and Film, University of Sussex
  • Peter Nicholls, Professor of English, New York University
  • Annika Öhrner, Senior Lecturer, Södertörn University
  • Camilla Skovbjerg Paldam, Assistant Professor of Art History, Aarhus University
  • Sarah Posman, Postdoctoral Fellow of the Research Foundation Flanders, Ghent University
  • Anne Reverseau, Postdoctoral Researcher at the University of Leuven
  • Halldór Björn Runólfsson, Museum Director of the National Gallery of Iceland
  • Anna Katharina Schaffner, Senior Lecturer of Comparative Literature, University of Kent
  • Æsa Sigurjónsdóttir, Assistant Professor of Art History, University of Iceland
  • Lech Sokół, Professor of Theatre Studies and Head of the Department of the History and Theory of Theatre, Polish Academy of Sciences, Institute of Art
  • Luca Somigli, Associate Professor of Italian Studies, University of Toronto
  • Per Stounbjerg, Professor at the Department of Aesthetics and Communication, Aarhus University
  • Irina Subotić, Professor Emeritus, University of Arts, Belgrade
  • Willem Weststeijn, Professor of Slavic Studies, University of Amsterdam